BlackFacts Details

Tanzania: Mkapa Forms Cabinet After Being Sworn-in As President Dar

Dar es Salaam — After the rerun of the October 1995 polls in the seven constituencies of Dar es Salaam Region on November 19, 1995, the National Electoral Commission (NEC), on November 22, declared CCM Presidential flag bearer Benjamin Mkapa the president of the United Republic of Tanzania.

Announcing the results of the presidential election at the Diamond Jubilee Hall in the City of Dar es Salaam, the NEC chairman, Judge Lewis Makame, declared Mkapa President after defeating other presidential contestants from three political parties, who participated in the polls and then backed out at the eleventh hour.

Kikwete misses swearing-in The following day, on November 29, President Mkapa sworn-in appointed ministers of his government at Ikulu in Dar es Salaam Region.

The new Cabinet was formed by Vice President Omar Ali Juma, Prime Minister Sumaye, Justice and Constitution minister Bakari Mwapachu, Edgar Maokola-Majo-go (Defence), Ali Ahmed Ameir (Internal Affairs), Simon Mbilinyi (Finance), Jakaya Kikwete (Foreign Affairs and International Coopera-tion), Pius Ng'wandu (Water and Livestock Development), Abdal-lah Kigoda (Indutry and Trade), Prof Omar Kapuya (Education) and Zakhia Meghji (Health).

The others appointed to the cabi-net were William Kusila (Communi-cations and Transport), Paul Kimiti (Agriculture and Cooperatives), William Shija (Energy and Minerals), Juma Ngasongwa (Natural Resources and Tourism), Gideon Cheyo (Lands), Jackson Makwetta (Science, Technology and Higher Educa-tion), Sebastian Kinyondo (Labour and Youth Development), Mary Nagu (Community Development, Women and Children), Mateo Qares (Minister of State in President's Office), Daniel Yona (President's Office Planning), Bakari Mbonde (Prime Minister's Office) and Juma Nkhangaa (Prime Minister's Office).

Science Facts

Maxine Waters Reclaims Her Time On The Breakfast Club